Nightshade Revenge by Anthony Horowitz

When his best friend Tom is abducted, Alex Rider is given an ultimatum by Nightshade – a sinister cult of assassins with a score to settle. But what twisted evil are they planning, and how is it connected to a revolutionary new gaming system?

With no idea who to trust, Alex finds himself dragged into a nightmare world – where nothing is real but the game could kill you. The clock is ticking and Nightshade is closing in…

Everyone has heard of teenage spy Alex Rider and to me, it is so incredibly exciting that this book series is still going!  The first book came out in 2000 when I was 8 and so this is a series I have been reading since I was a child and I have a serious amount of love for it.  I did have to read a little recap of some of the later books before I dove into Nightshade Revenge as it had been a little while since I’d read any Alex Rider books.  However, I needn’t have worried as I was immediately thrown back into the world of super spies, teenage assassins, gadgets and all around thrilling missions! 

The plot surrounding the new video gaming system is obviously one that many children will get behind – VR is cool and exciting and this felt eerily reminiscent of one of the earlier books with similar levels of technology.  Alex can never really trust what’s going on around him.  Returning faces of Smithers and Sabina will be familiar to readers of the Alex Rider series and newer characters such as Mrs Jones’ children and Freddy from Nightshade add extra depth to Alex’s moral choices in dire situations.  

A fun return to a high octane spy thriller with some seriously fast paced writing. 5 out of 5 stars.

Thank you to Walker Books and NetGalley for the ebook review copy.  Nightshade Revenge by Anthony Horowitz is out 7th September and you can pre-order a copy here.

Leave a comment